My washing machine died yesterday!

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Ravenlost, Oct 8, 2004.

1. Ravenlost

Ravenlost Well-Known Member Supporter

My washing machine died yesterday with a full load of sopping wet clothes in it. Hubby said it might be fixable, but he has no idea how to fix it...no spin or drain cycles any more. It's 13 years old so now I have to find the best deal on a new one, dryer too. Dryer smells like something is burning when I use it. :eek:

Spent last night rinsing the clothes in the laundry tub and wringing them by hand.

2. almostthere

almostthere Well-Known Member

oh, bet that was fun. :) My kids actually like scrubbing clothes in the tub. Don't do it often tho, not enought for them anyway. I mean what can beat permission to get wet and soppy and then go outside to dry off in the sun? That smell sounds like a belt, but I'm no expert so don't hold me to that. I do remember when our washer did that, it ended up being the "rocker bar". It wasn't expensive or hard to replace. Hopefully yours will be just as easy.

3. stonerebel

stonerebel Well-Known Member

Sounds like the drain pump is just stopped up, sometimes sand builds up in it or something else stops it up. Take the drain hose lose from the pump and clean it out.

4. Ole Man Legrand

Ole Man Legrand Well-Known Member

Ravenlost Check the lid switch. My neighbor just paid $150. to have a $3. Switch replaced. check the cams underneath,there is one that tells the pump to drain the water. Also tells the agitator to agitate and the the tub when to spin.

5. Jack in VA

Jack in VA Well-Known Member

Give us the Make and model.....we may be able to help you. Sounds like something got caught somewhere. Feel around the top of the tub. Can you turn the basket by hand?

6. insanity

insanity Well-Known Member