My goat breeding frustrations!

Discussion in 'Goats' started by wardarden, Sep 20, 2006.

1. wardarden

wardarden Well-Known Member

Hey guys,

I am a rookie at everything new this year with my goats! Now it is breeding season and I am lost again. :shrug: Aaarrggg! When I first married my husband he had a Stud horse that he stood and we bred mares for several years. I have decided that breeding horses is much easier that breeding goats! I can't tell what these silly does are doing! :confused: I have compiled a Goat Breeding Diary to try and keep track of what is happening. It is posted below, sorry if it is long but I am open for any suggestions. . . . . .

Saturday Sept 16th
    Drove 2 hours one way to pick up buck (Chad) and arrived back at our place late Saturday afternoon. I have this buck loaned to me for about 3 weeks. Turned him out with 2 does (Nita is a 4 y.o. Oberhasli doe 3rd freshener – Daisy is Nita’s doeling from last January and ready to breed as well) and he seemed more interested in their hay and pasture than anything. They were mildly curious about him but nothing major. I went out at dark to try and catch him to move him to a separate pen and he eluded my attempts.

Sunday Sept 17th