Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I just bought a 1936 Cavalier woodburning cook stove. I've never used one before and I'm curious about a few things. First of all when we install it, how far does it need to be from the walls? Also we are not able to set it directly under where the stovepipe is in the cieling so we are going to need a couple of elbows...how far should the pipe we're going to use to go across be from the ceiling? I'm so very excited to get to use it but I don't want to make any rash mistakes! Thanks in advance :)

Stacey~

·
Registered
209 Posts
Any unshielded stove or pipe needs to be 36 inches from combustable surfaces. If you put up a heat shield behind the stove it can usually be 12 inches from the shield but you would also need to shield the pipe. You can buy a curved metal heat shield for stove pipe that screws together in sections and then mounts with bolts directly to the stove pipe (we have this for our coal heating stove). You should be able to get heat shields from any dealer that sells wood or coal burning stoves.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Wow, thanks, thats a big help. Makes me feel safer lol. We have a really good hardware store not far from here that deals in stove accessories. I'll be checking with them tomorrow.

·
Registered
924 Posts
Here is an installation guide that will answer all your questions. Please first note the difference between stove pipe and chimney pipe. Stove pipe is the single or double wall pipe that is attached directly to the exhaust of the stove. Chimney pipe is the double or triple walled pipe that is designed to pass through floors and the roof.

http://www.northlineexpress.com/help-pipe-install-planning.html

If you select stove pipe, you have to keep single-wall pipe at least 18" away from combustables. For double-wall STOVE pipe, the distance is 6". Triple-wall chimney pipe has only a 2" clearance.