Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5,499 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Someone gave me some material and there was 6 squares of embroidered roses in with it (each square was a different color). I decided to make a quilt with them.

And I'm now in the middle of quilting a design in the blank squares:

This is going to take me a long time, because I'm still a beginner, but it's been fun so far.

·
Big Front Porch advocate
44,851 Posts
that's so beautiful. Looks as if you have a good sewing set up for the quilt.

And those embroidery squares remind me of when all embroidery was HAND embroidery and not the nifty new embroidery machines.

Angie

·
notenoughtime
540 Posts
That quilt is so pretty and it does look like the quilts from days ago with the embroidery. I am curious if you like your pvc quilt frame? I have seen them before but since I don't quilt never have invested in one. My grandma had the old wood kind that had clamps at the corners. The pvc looks more compact and takes up less room.

·
Registered
5,499 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Awww thank you for the encouragement - I can use it! Those roses were hand embroidered. There are a lot of ladies in this community that do that all the time (they call it their "fancy work").

The quilt group I belong to had that PVC quilting stand donated to them (one gripper clip is missing tho) and I loved it so much, I searched until I found one online. That way I don't have to keep "borrowing" theirs all the time. They're great if you don't have much space in the house for regular quilt frames. The quilting group uses boards, clamps and chairs for their quilt frame - that way we can work on any size quilt we need to... with us all sitting around sewing on it.

If any of you ever want to see some of the quilts our group has put together, let me know.

·
Premium Member
1,863 Posts