My 77 f250, is Alive...(again)!

Discussion in 'Shop Talk' started by fordy, Oct 14, 2004.

1. fordy

fordy Well-Known Member

.................As I have stated previously I've been reworking the power steering system on 77 , F250 , 4x4 ford truck . I bought this truck in July of '01 . Since I'm NOT a mechanic this was a serious undertaking for ME . Alittle background , first I and a friend\mechanic completely rebuilt the engine in May of '02 . New brakes , new ball joints , ujoints , headders , new exhaust system , rebuilt transfer case , new centerforce clutch , new MSD ignition\Distributor , etc .
    ................So , the power steering system on ford trucks with 4x4 was Completely revamped in April of 77 , in the middle of the production year . They added a standard power steering gearbox instead of the old style control valve\slave cylinder system . The power valve never really worked right after extended usage on the truck and Parts are almost impossible to find . So , I removed the left front qtr panel , the front grill that holds the radiator and went to work . I bought a used 77.5, 78-79 power steering box and spent considerable time getting it mounted to where it would move the front wheels without any conflicts . Anyway , this truck has been stationary inside my garage since July of '03 . I , also had to reset the intake manifold , etc . So , it has been sitting immobile for 15 months . I reconnected all the wiring and plumbing , put gas in the tank , and fired her over....the darn engine kicked off immediately...I was amazed . No leaks , the articulation of my new PS system worked great . So , to say I've had a Good day is an understatement .