Multi-Use Barn Layout

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by minnikin1, Oct 30, 2005.

1. minnikin1

minnikin1 Shepherd

We are converting 1/2 of an old central hall dairy barn to be used for all of our stock.
    We live in a colder region of zone five, damp and snowy.
    We plan to have 1 or 2 pigs, a handful of laying hens, a handful of sheep, a couple of goats, 2 oxen and 1 jersey with calf, and a rabbitry.

The oxen will be scottish highlands, and will be outdoors except when young/in training, for grooming/vetting or during the most brutal storms.
    The sheep go out all day but come in for saftety at night.
    The goats and jersey I have no experience with yet, so don't know
    how much time they will spend indoors, but I'm guessing quite a bit in winter.

I don't have a clue about how to layout the interior to accomodate everyone.
    Any ideas?
    What special features would you want in your dream barn?

2. BearCreekFarm

BearCreekFarm Well-Known Member

Minni-

We are about to do the same ting when we move to our new place. We haven't spent enough time there yet to have figured out how we will lay it out. I'll be watching this thread with interest and hope you'll post what works for you.

3. Carol K

Carol K Well-Known Member

I don't have much experience either, but you may want to decide if you want to free stall all the critters (except the pigs) or have them in their own stalls. When you decide that then you can work something out.
    Not sure you'd want to keep pigs over winter though, wouldn''t you just buy weiners in the Spring and slaughter in the fall, that way you don't have to worry about pigs and winter? Not sure I've helped but just some things to cloudy up your thoughts, lol

Carol K

4. ebarj1098

ebarj1098 Active Member