Moving milking times??

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by sheepmom, Jan 13, 2005.

1. sheepmom

sheepmom Guest

Ok, assuming I buy cow #2....

She is used to being milked around 430 and 430?

I need to milk around 545 and 545....I'm not home til about 530 and I want to leave a little bit of time for error....

How to do this with the least distress to Blossom (her new name)?

2. Christina R.

Christina R. Well-Known Member

I have so little experience, so I hope someone who knows something gives you real advice, however, this is what I've read and what I do. (of course, there is a difference....since when does literature ever match up to real world practice?). I've read that you bump up or down the times about 15 minutes a day until you get to the time you want.

What real life has dictated that I do (on weekends, over Christmas break, etc.) is I milk her at 5:30 - 6:00am on weekdays when I work and about 6:30-7:00 am on Sat and Sun (because I'm a lazy farmer?!). Obviously I'm not bumping up the times, on Fri. I'm out there by 5:45, but on Sat I'm probably out there by 6:45. At night, last minute phone calls by a kid to get picked up or a meeting at school or, or, or .... means I try to milk by 5:30 pm, but there have been evenings that I've milked at 6:30 and some that I've started milking at 4:30 so I can have her milked before I have to go to somewhere.

With all this in mind, my gal has never had mastitis or a fit because I'm late, but she isn't going through the stress of changing owners and adapting to a new home. You might want to do the slow change method. My point is changing milking times with one cow hasn't been the crisis for me that I thought it was going to be. Going into this I thought if I was 5 minutes late, the poor gal would get sicker than anything and I'd be ruining her quarters.

PS I'm glad you're going with option 2, she seemed like the one I'd want (hand milked, no horns). Good Luck!

3. Horace Baker

Horace Baker Well-Known Member