Moving Goats

Discussion in 'Goats' started by Chuck, Jun 30, 2005.

1. Chuck

Chuck Well-Known Member Supporter

We close next week on our new house, which is about 5 hours from our old one. I'm going to load our ten goats and 40 chickens up in a trailer after we close on this house and drive them down to the new place.

Are there any special considerations I need to know about moving animals like this? I've never done it before.

2. dale anne

dale anne Well-Known Member

Howdy chuck....that long a drive will put alot of stress on the goats...so positive bacteria will be needed[your choice of brand]..stop every so often to give water and lots of hay for them to lay on and eat...I would also stop and check from time to time to make sure no one is tangled in lead ropes[if you are going to tie them down]if you do time them down make sure they have enough lead to lay down but not to get tangled in....I once drove with SIL from philadelphia to florida with 15 goats and a horse...took us 2 days!...we also stopped at small road side parks and let the goats walk as they seemed to get a bit stiff...also I dont know about the laws in the states you are going to drive in but we had to poat signs on the back and sides of the trailer saying live animals...and do not touch[I reckon for when we stopped]...after the trip we only had problems with one goat who bloated up on us about an hour after arriving...she made it and all was good...also might want to keep a first aid box at ready including bloat ease,baking soda,blood stop powder,stomach tube,mouth speculum,and bandages....good luck and keep us updated on how ya fair...dale anne

3. Vicki McGaugh TX Nubians

Vicki McGaugh TX Nubians Well-Known Member