Moving Dilemma

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by tngirl, Aug 29, 2004.

1. tngirl

tngirl Well-Known Member

Hi, everyone. I need some help! I am thinking of moving to eastern Washington from Atlanta, GA, but I've got six goats and 60 chickens and guineas. How would I move all of them across country? How much would I be looking at spending?

2. Laura

Laura Well-Known Member

In a stock trailer?

Unless your stock is irreplacable breeding stock, sell them and buy new when you are resettled in a new home.

3. Timedess

Timedess Guest

Now, granted, I am new to chickens and all that jazz, but as someone who lives in "Chickendale" (very near Tyson HQ), we see chicken trucks headed to slaughter ALL the time... I couldn't imagine that, even in larger accomodations an *not* headed to slaughter, any chicken would do well on a long journey like that (especially in an open trailer like a stock trailer) :no: I agree with Laura- sell and buy new when you get there.

My .02 worth! :haha:

in Him,
    Timedess

4. Timedess

Timedess Guest

Forgot to mention, too- consider whether your current animals would be able to handle the change in climate/temperatures if you were to take them from GA all the way to WA. You'd hate to go to all the expense and trouble of moving them, plus the trauma to the birds, and then find out they don't like Washington winters! :)

T

5. Okanoganer

Okanoganer New Member