Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good morning fellow homesteaders!

I am a novice, looking to buy a homestead property. I have found two but they each come with drawbacks that I am trying to decide between.

Charming House, Oddly Laid Out Property, No Pond
This property has 2 new outbuildings and enough electric fences to pasture two horses (previous owner had two) or other livestock. There is also a creek running through the woods.
The home on this property is small but charming - in move in condition - I could be very happy living in it. However the property itself is oddly shaped, in something like a thick Y. Much of the acreage is in tail of Y that shoots straight back from the house, and then the house and garden are in one of the thick upper forks, and the other fork of the Y is wooded. I THINK it would need some woods clearing, too, which costs $$$

Dingy House, Well Laid Out Property, With Pond
The other property is laid out in a much more natural homesteading rectangle shape. It needs LESS woods clearing. It also has a natural pond. However, no outbuildings other than a shed and no fencing. AND the house needs a serious remodel, (remodel existing bathroom, add a deck, replace windows and siding, add another bathroom, complete kitchen remodel, and mudroom add) - though it is livable now.

Both properties will need investments in the land, but the BETTER land comes with a house remodel, too.

Without a home remodel, I could sink more $ in the land of the oddly shaped property, but is it too odd to really become a workable homestead with a private pond?

What do more experienced homesteaders advise? THANKS!

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Maybe the better land isn't really better, but only seems so to me because I prefer the shape!

·
Saltine American
6,586 Posts
Welcome to the forum.
I think the best thing to do is weigh what it would cost you to get each property where you want it.