Money from the Homestead

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by mongohardbottle, Nov 30, 2003.

1. mongohardbottle

mongohardbottle Member

I have been a homesteader for about 10 years, trying to be as self sufficient as possible. We have raised rabbits, chickens, sheep, goats and gardened. All of these things fed the family but there was never much money brought in. The eggs from the chickens were the only thing that made money till now.

I have been a musician all my life playing semi-professional and as a week-end warrior in classic rock bands and solo folk acts, this also brought money into the family but I think I have found my money maker, building dulcimers.
    http://dulce-melos-dulcimers.freeservers.com/

If you look at the link you will see some of my work, The photo of the two side by side makes them look short and dumpy, they are not it's just the photo (which I need to fix)

In the main photo you see #0004 leaning against a cedar split rail fence, that is the same material that #0004 is made from. I friend of mine was clearing some land for a person and needed a place to take the wood to and ask me if I wanted it...He brought me all of the cedar that surrounded 40 ACERS!

So must of my dulcimers are Cedar, but not all, I will make them out of anything. I am also starting to make mission furniture for our new (to us) homestead...

So what do you think?

Grant

2. Terri

Terri Singletree & Weight Loss & Permaculture Moderator Staff Member Supporter

Oh, mane padme ohmmmmmmmmmmmm.......

I forsee trips to the renescance fairs in your future....................

ohmmmmmmmm.........

3. kathy H

kathy H kathyh

They are beautifull ! I read some were once the older the wood the better the sound.

4. Mike in Ohio

Mike in Ohio Well-Known Member

You should definately consider getting a table at next years Kent State Folk Festival. You would certainly get some orders from people.

Mike

5. Shrek

Shrek Singletree Moderator Staff Member