Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4,029 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So...up to now my only experience has been with full sized LaManchas...I dabbled a bit last fall and ended up with what I think is a beautiful MiniMancha doeling. I plan on not trying to breed her this fall when I rebreed my other does, but to wait for a full year and let her reach her full potential size. I have no experience what so ever with Nigerian Dwarfs and am curious about how they mix. As I understand they cycle and can be bred more that one time in a year ( not sure if I'm quite wording that properly ) I know for the most part LaManchas are fall breeders. How does that factor in when you combine the breeds? Do they cycle and work the same as full sized goats or more like the Dwarf or is it a toss up between the two?
I see in several signature lines there are several that breed MiniManchas so I'd really love to hear from you.

·
Premium Member
2,981 Posts
As far as cycling, I think it may depend on the doe herself. I just bred one the end of May, and either she took, or she stopped cycling. Which reminds me, I should take her up for an ultrasound. But I bred this doe and another MM last year in late July and both were cycling and took the first time.

As far as when to breed, just watch and see how your doe grows. I bred my Fawn, who's a 4th gen, and a pretty darn good sized gal at 10 months of age. She kidded with a beautiful little doeling. I also bred a 1st gen at exactly a year and she did fine as well. BUT, both of these girls were bred back to nigerians as I didn't have a mini mancha buck yet.

Good luck and have fun, I love my minis!

·
gracie88
913 Posts
Can you tell me a little about mini-manchas? Are they a recognized breed or always a cross? Are they supposed to be identical-just-smaller or do they share characteristics with both breeds? Are they considered utility or pet? How do they milk?