Mini-Lamancha 4-H dilemma

Discussion in 'Goats' started by redcedarfarm, Jun 15, 2005.

1. redcedarfarm

redcedarfarm Active Member

I am a newbie to this message board. I have owned goats for over 10 years and love in Southern Indiana. My children are in 4-H and have become very competitve. We had the Supreme Grand Champion Jr. Dry yearling at the fair open show last year so now people see us as a threat and boy have mouths started running.
    My latest problem is our county 4-H has a messed up show. The pygmy's and Nigerian don't show in a regular class the have created a specialty goat class for these goats. Well, we have a mini-mancha and think it should be shown in the specialty class but, the other woman that has nigerians(yes, she is the only one that has nigerians),we will call her Denise doesnt want our mini shown against her nigerians. Keep in mind we will be showing nigerians this year too. We were told last night by Denises club leader that Denise is telling everyone that our goat shouldn't be shown in the specialty class because there is no registry for mini-mancha's. I looked it up and there is a registry for mini's, called the Miniature Dairy Goat Association.
    My question to you is, what would you do? What class would you show her in?
    Another thing to keep in mind is last year everyone one of our goats were put in the wrong class. Our goat superintendant decides what class to put the goats in. So we got a big "screw" at the fair last year. So I am consideralby irate.
    Thank you all for any advice I look forward to hearing what you all would do.
    Dawn SUmmers
    Corydon,IN

2. JanO

JanO Well-Known Member Supporter