Mini-dairy breed genetics

Discussion in 'Goats' started by TexCountryWoman, May 28, 2006.

1. TexCountryWoman

TexCountryWoman Gig'em

I came home from a goat show today with a pair of beautiful Mini-Mancha doelings. I have been very interested in Minis for some time and am thrilled to have had the oppurtunity to add these nice animlas to my herd. I have been reading all i can on the "interweb" but I am still havig a bit of dificulty understanding the whys and wherefores of breeding the different generations.. These are third generation. I assume they would have to be bred to a third generation buck as well.

Also, I was suprised to find out that they were not to be bred til they older than regular sized dairy goats. It makes since, but i am just new to small goats. Anything anyone knows will help me.

And, do all minis have small teats, or can you breed for larger "handles" for milking?........Thanks

2. Laura Workman

Laura Workman (formerly Laura Jensen) Supporter

Diane, Small teats are from the Nigerian side most often. We do breed for larger teats. (See the does on my website, for example.) You don't HAVE to breed to a third generation buck, but if you breed to third or later, you'll get fourth generation kids - one step closer to purebred. I have bred minis at 7 to 8 months, but got large, single kids. Not good. I now wait until 10 or 11 months old to breed. I have last year's February baby bred to kid in a week or so.

Can I ask what the bloodlines are of your girls?

3. TexCountryWoman

TexCountryWoman Gig'em

Thanks Laura. These doelings are from A2Z dairy goats in Azle, Texas. I don't have the pedigrees in front of me at this time. Sondra, their breeder shows quite a bit, and has some really nice minis.