milking new mama

Discussion in 'Goats' started by Moo284, Jun 18, 2005.

1. Moo284

Moo284 Member

Maggie's kids are just about 4 weeks old now and milking is not going well. I have been milking Maggie's mama, Nell, for 2 years now, no problems. I can't seem to get Maggie to let down. I manage to get about 10 squirts out of eat teat, that's it. I've tried simulating the kids poking at her teat, but she's pretty pruny. The kids are having no trouble eating. I tried massaging her udder last night that didn't seem to help much. Any suggestions? Thanks

2. Hank - Narita

Hank - Narita Well-Known Member

Are you feeding her good quality alfalfa hay or alfalfa pellets and grain? She might let down more as time goes by. I know our yearling did. What breed is she? Good milking lines? We are getting lots of milk besides what the kids are drinking. Have to throw it away as we don't use it all.

3. Laura Workman

Laura Workman (formerly Laura Jensen) Supporter

Are you separating her from the kids for at least 12 hours before milking? Some does can be pretty stingy with their milk, but when they're full, it's a whole different story! And at that age, kids can easily go 12 hours overnight without feeding.

By the way, try to make sure you milk her out all the way in the morning. That way, the kids learn that there will be no huge breakfast and don't hit her so hard when you let them out with her after milking.

4. Moo284

Moo284 Member

Yes, they all have alfalfa hay available to them and I grain while feeding. She is an alpine, la mancha, neubian cross and her mom is a breeze to milk. I milk at night and she has plenty of milk. We'll just keep trying every night. I tried again this morning with a tiny bit more of success. Thanks for your input.
    Musetta

5. Moo284

Moo284 Member