Milking help for an older doe first time milked

Discussion in 'Goats' started by tioga12, Jul 28, 2006.

1. tioga12

tioga12 Well-Known Member

My newly acquired 4.5 year old doe has never been milked up until last Monday. I am new at milking, too, but feel that I have gotten the hang of it. I do not rub or squeeze the udder and it comes out well. I know this girl has lots of milk, but after a couple of days of getting her used to being milked, she has decided to kick and hop around. So far we haven't found a solution that worked. Any suggestions? Will a hobble actually be successful? (Home made nylon one did nothing) I am afraid she will break a leg trying to get free. I know her production is going to decrease if I don't keep her milked out a couple times a day, and don't know if she could get mastitis or plugged if I just let her dry out cold turkey (I really want to keep her in milk, for now. She might be pregnant, but if so probably not more than a month or two.) She doesn't appear to be upset, just decides not to stand. We feed her her favorite only when she is in the stand. It doesn't seem to be buying us any time to do milking - since yesterday, she has decided its not for her! :(

2. Egypt Run

Egypt Run Active Member

Sounds like you got your work cut out for you. Put the stand so one side is up against a wall. Sounds like she is set in her ways. Is their anyone around you that has good experiance milking goats? If so try and get them to milk her a few times. We HAD one doe that I had to put her on the stand lean my shoulder in to her hip and milked her into a plastic quart jar one teat at a time. We sold her. I will pray for you.
    Steve

3. tioga12

I have to lean into this one, too. I get her left hip into the crook of my left shoulder, lean forward and press against her firmly; reach in front of her legs, and milk both teats at once as quickly as possible, as she may start acting up at any time. (now it seems she won't allow anything)