Metal Workers/Welders

Discussion in 'Shop Talk' started by oldudbob, Dec 9, 2004.

1. oldudbob

oldudbob Member

Any other hobbyist metal workers/welders on this forum? I’ve been doing metal work/welding as a hobby for about 15 years. I have a small shop at home with an AC/DC stick welder, AC stick welder, flux cored wire welder, plasma cutter and various power tools. Most of the project I do use 1/8” to ¼” think material. I’ve built a couple of canoe trailers, utility trailers, a rack to go on the back of my travel trailer, a rack to hold two spare tires under the trailer, etc. I would be interested in exchanging metal working/welding tips with others on this forum.

2. herefordman

herefordman Well-Known Member

3. bumpus

bumpus Well-Known Member

Just go for a bigger job I know you are bored.

4. oldudbob

oldudbob Member

herefordman: Thanks for the link. I will check it out.

5. jackie c

jackie c Well-Known Member

6. Ross

Ross Moderator Staff Member Supporter

We build alot of things with the welder here. headgates for our sheep feeders and pasture gates. We built a 16 foot equipment float, and a few small utility trailers. The TIG sits on a castor wheeled frame we made, the barn has a few heavy steel brackets keepign it standing! We have an Airo ACDC stick TIG with Hi Freq, a Miller MIG and a little Clarke Turbo weld en100 flux core MIG. Propane torches and a Rigid chop saw do the cutting.

7. moopups

moopups In Remembrance

In beautiful downtown Sticks, near Belleview, Fl.
    I build ornamental and decorative house fixtures, such as baby swings, pot and pan racks, ect. Sort of like wrought iron only not with a forge. Alsobuildany thing thatis needed within reason; post puller, livestock trailer, ect.

8. insanity

insanity Well-Known Member