Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie and I'm happy to be here.

I've wondered often what I would do about getting my meds if there was a catastrophy. Doctors are not willing to give some prescriptions for more than two months at a time. I don't even know if my insurance will agree to that. I have epilepsy and it scares me to think about not having my meds.

·
Registered
1,927 Posts
Ask your Dr. for an emergency 30/60/90 day supply of your meds for emergencies (i.e, for your location, a tornado comes through). Tell them you would feel more comfortable with a 90 day supply and that you will pay out-of-pocket for the Rx. Another scenario, wait about 1-2 weeks after having your Rx filled and "lose" it, tell your Dr./pharmacist that you can't find it, and ask for another Rx.

If you can get an emergency Rx from the Dr., see if you can order online from Canada (requires a copy of the original Rx I think). Then, have someone take your Rx to another pharmacy to get filled. If they say that it was filled online play dumb, "oh, I didn't know that this Rx was already filled."

Another idea is to see if you can grow herbs to self-treat in emergencies. Maybe a combination of herbs can help, if only a little, with the symptoms.

·
Registered
7,798 Posts
You can also tell your doctor that you're afraid of not having your meds if there is any kind of catastrophe, and ask him/her to write your Rx for double the amount. You take your regular dose, and set the extra dose aside. In just a few months you'll have a nice little cushion of extra medicine.

Not all doctors are willing to do this, but some are.

·
Registered
4,081 Posts
That's kind of asking a doc to commit fraud. Not a good thing.