Mean doe?

Discussion in 'Rabbits' started by Willowynd, Sep 1, 2006.

1. Willowynd

Willowynd Well-Known Member

I am not a novice, but it has been about 15 yrs since I last raised rabbits. I bought a few french lops 6 days ago and now that they have settled in, I noticed that one of the does is rather tempermental. She growls when you open her cage and grabs the door and pulls and pushes it, she will jump at you like she is going to attack when you put your hand the cage and then rips the clip on feed dish off the cage and slams it on the floor of the cage repeatedly. She has not bitten, but I have not handled her either since she started this and have been careful when reaching in her cage. Culling is not an option at this point- at least not until I get a doe from her to replace her. Suggestions?

2. bob clark

bob clark A man's man

temperment is one of the highest heritable traits there is. I would not want to keep any of her offspring. I dont put up with does like that, and I love fryed rabbit

3. MaggieJ

MaggieJ Well-Known Member Supporter

I wouldn't be too quick to give up on her... she may just be stressed from the move. She sounds scared to me, not mean.

I suggest you try sweet talking her, giving her little bits of greens through the wire (long grass is good for this because she doesn't have to get too close to you to nibble it.)

Try speaking pleasantly to the rabbits as you approach the rabbitry so they know you are coming. Rabbits also respond well to soft music. I sing to mine when they are stressed and helps. Which is amazing because I have a terrible singing voice... but somehow it seems to reassure them.

Good luck with her... I hope you have the patience to win her over.

4. Honorine

Honorine Carpe Vinum Supporter