Maybe the perfect all around hunting rifle.

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by r.h. in okla., Nov 9, 2004.

1. The other day I took my 10 year old daughter squirrel hunting with me. She wasn't quite strong enough to hold my 22 rifle steady in order to dispatch a squirrel, especially if it was high up in a tree. Didn't want to take a chance of the bullet flying off a mile away and hitting something or someone. Well it occured to me "Why don't I teach her to shoot my little shotgun that I received when I was around her age"? Then all she would have to do is shoot close and should be able to hit it. The BB's wouldn't fly too far. So yesterday I dug the rifle out of the closet. I haven't used it in several years. I graduated to other rifles and shotguns that I now use instead. But when I dug this one out of the closet I got to thinking how this was and probably still is the perfect all around hunting gun to own. It is a over and under made by savage. It has a 22 barrel on top and a 20 guage barrel on bottom. The barrels only measure 20 inches long being barely legal to own. It can be used to take rabbits, squirrels, quail, and various other small game animals. All though I never hunted deer with it, it can shoot slugs. I wouldn't advise shooting to many slugs through it or any smooth bore shotguns. But however, a person could during the deer rifle season use only this one gun to hunt with and be able to come home with some type of wild game for the table. How many times have we gone out deer hunting only to see a 101 squirrels skipping all around us, wishing we had a 22 or shotgun.

Well I got my deer down, now I can polish off a few of these squirrels too.

2. Ed Norman

Ed Norman Well-Known Member