Making soap from wood ashes

Discussion in 'Soapmaking' started by damoc, May 18, 2020.

1. damoc

damoc Well-Known Member

I have been playing around with this for several years now and it is not as easy as you would think I have managed to make a usable product in usable quantities but I am not sure why my lye does not work as well as other soapmakers. Poor quality ash? Impurities in rainwater? charcoal in ash? poor leaching technique? any thoughts would be apreciated for next years attempt.

2. damoc

damoc Well-Known Member

This is my first attempt many years ago if anybody is interested.

3. Alice In TX/MO

Alice In TX/MO Be powerful. No other option exists. Supporter

What kind of wood are you using for making the ashes? Soft woods don't have the properties necessary.

damoc likes this.
  4. damoc

damoc Well-Known Member

Its the left over ashes from my fireplace which are a mix of Pine and Juniper a mix of hard and soft I think.

5. Cabin Fever

Cabin Fever Life NRA Member since 1976 Supporter

Neither pine nor juniper are hardwoods. My understanding is the ash from oak, hickory, maple, and ash would be the best.

If the ash is not used right away, it should be stored in an air-tight container. Otherwise, the humidity and CO2 in the air, as well as the unburned charcoal, will start to carbonate the oxides in the ash, which will reduce its effectiveness.

damoc likes this.
  6. Alice In TX/MO

Alice In TX/MO Be powerful. No other option exists. Supporter

American Hardwoods