Log Homes

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Snugglebunny, Oct 29, 2004.

1. Snugglebunny

Snugglebunny Well-Known Member

My Hubby has told me he would like a log home.. my question is pricing. Anyone have any idea how much a log home costs?? We are specifically looking at the "Real Log Homes"

Any info would be great...

2. coalroadcabin

coalroadcabin Well-Known Member

Snugglebunny,
    We too are planning to build a log home (this time next year, we hope) I've been researching for about 3 years (12 if you count the 'just dreaming stage :) ) As to pricing, it can be either very very expesive or very economical (and every $$ in between) Check out loghomereports.com to see if there are any comments on Real Log Homes. Also, I would strongly suggest that you check out lhoti.com. There are members there that are handcrafters, dealers, builders, restorers, log home owners, architects.........if you do a search on the archives there you can find out what some others have said about "Real Log Homes". I'll be looking for you there :)
    ~Susan

3. painterswife

painterswife Sock puppet reinstated Supporter

Not to burst your bubble but have you considered the downside to log homes.(I have lived in a few!) Even built one.

Harder to heat
    Bugs!
    Lots of dust collect on the logs unless you are constantly cleaning.
    Electrical instalation costs more
    Settling

We are about to build again. I love the look but talk myself out of it everytime I start feeling myself heading in that direction. I think we will go the route of a few well placed log beams in the house instead.

I live in the land of log homes, Jackson Wyoming. They are difficult to finish and maintain as well. They keep calling and I have to remeber the drafts, the dust and the bugs!

4. tatanka

tatanka Well-Known Member