Line breeding?

Discussion in 'Goats' started by chma4, Mar 5, 2005.

1. chma4

chma4 Wolverton Family Farm Supporter

I am a dog breeder, and not a huge fan of line breeding dogs. Is line breeding common in livestock herds? Should I keep my does (hopefully I will get lots of does) even though I only keep one buck? Advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. elly_may

elly_may Well-Known Member

3. Shazza

Shazza Well-Known Member Supporter

Hi, if you only have one buck and you want to keep any does from matings to him, then you will have to use another buck, or it is in-breeding not line breeding. I also breed dogs and line breeding assures me of the health of the line and knowing what I am getting...no genetic surprises from out crossing. Specially in dairy goats, if you have a line with lots of milk you want to keep it....:)

4. chma4

chma4 Wolverton Family Farm Supporter

In-breeding, line-breeding, call it what you want. I have a degree in Biology and "in-breeding" to be exact,as I had learned, is not actually considered "inbreeding" unless you breed brother to sister. But no one came here for a lesson in english or semantics. I have read alot of material that has suggested that one generation of father dauhter breeding is not harmfull to the genetic pool of goats. Others , like you, have said that its not good to do. I don't like it in dogs because I find that although I get positive physical trait enhancement, I beleive that their temperment is negatively affected. So I choose not t do it. As far as my goats are concerned, I just have such beautiful well formed does,that I paid top dollar for from different herders around the country, and none of them have any relation whatsoever (as far as 5 generations back),to the buck. so I dont know how differently this technique of father daughter breedings is used in livestock. Is it worth trying and possibly failing? I was hoping someone would tell me that they successfully do this.