Let's talk shooting in the head.

Discussion in 'Pigs' started by Mr. Dot, Oct 22, 2005.

1. Mr. Dot

Mr. Dot Well-Known Member

Howdy
    I butchered my first pig last weekend and will do pig #2 tomorrow morning.
    The butchering went pretty well but the slaughtering went way South.
    Without going into the gory details it took 4 shots to drop him.
    I studied up on shot location and being a fairly steady hand with a pistol I'm sure I shot where I intended. The fact he wouldn't drop makes me wonder about where that location really should be.
    My first shot was with a .22 below the ear and directed down toward the snout. This produced a lot of blood and brain matter out his mouth but he stayed steady on his feet.
    2nd shot was again .22 and in the cross mark drawn from eyes to opposite ears. I crouched to pig level for the angle. He squealed, ran around the pen and stopped to stand steady again.
    Shot #3 was again in the forehead - same angle but this time with a .38 special. He ran around the pen and then into his house.
    4th shot - .38 - was AGAIN in the sweet spot between eyes and ears and with this shot he finally reacted as I expected him to with the first. Dropped like a sack of bricks, kicked a bit and then it was over.
    Is this a fluke? He was a big pig - 360 live weight/290 and change dressed.
    Advice on the angle for the head shot? Needless to say, I don't want to go through that again if I can help it.
    I'll stick with the .38 rather than the .22 and am even considering .45ACP for insurance although that seems like overkill (so to speak). But that's what I thought about the .38 before last Saturday.
    Opinions?
    Thanx.

2. commomsense

commomsense Beef,Its whats for dinner