Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2,916 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone have one?

Simply put, we have too many trees and not enough manpower to pick up the leaves. Unfortunately we have a lawn, not a forest where we can just let the leaves lie. We must rake and bag and it's really taking forever. :D

If you have one, does it work well? Thanks.

·
Registered
2,916 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Super thanks Surge. So far we have 10 bags of leaves and are nowhere near done. Ugh. The compact factor would be key for us.

I should mention that we have a small JD yard tractor, maybe I should look into some sort of part. Honestly, this is my first year with this yard and it's a little overwhelming. If anyone has other tools they use like a lawn vacuum, please chime in, I'm open to all ideas. Hiring someone to help will be a last resort. :)

·
Registered
3,168 Posts
I have one made by Stihl and I love it. You can change it from blower to mulcher in 5 minutes or less. It compacts the leaves to something like 40:1 IIRC. I use the mower to get the leaves in a windrow, them suck em up with the mulcher.
How big is the blower/mulcher? Handheld?
The stihl one I've seen was so small, I figured worth buying a good backpack (shindaiwa has been WAY better in my opinion than stihl or echo), blow leaves in to big piles and rake onto a tarp laid beside pile, or blow into the forest or garden beds. Just way way faster. But not mulched.
But that is with lots of leaves, may not be financially viable for a city lot once per year.

·
Premium Member
3,322 Posts
These machines have always puzzled me, why blow the leaves around? Aren't they going to have to be picked up at some point? Why not just rake them up and be done with it?

·
Registered
904 Posts
In town a lot of folks just blow them into the front yard close to the street then rake them into a pile and the city comes around and picks them up.