lawn care question

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by ellebeaux, Nov 10, 2005.

1. ellebeaux

ellebeaux Well-Known Member

I think I'll have the lawn mowed one more time this weekend. My grand plans for the hand-powered reel lawnmower fell through because the darn thing won't cut the grass. So I've been having a young neighbor boy do it. I figure since I'm new in the neighborhood, spreading some money around will only do my reputation good.

My question is: Should I rake up the leaves before he mows it? He has a mulching lawnmower and it works very well. The grass is in great shape right now. I am not sure if adding the mulched leaves would a) add nutrients to the soil over winter, or b) add tannins or other phytochemicals that could hurt the grass growth next spring. The leaves are all oak, by the way.

thanks!

Beaux

2. michiganfarmer

michiganfarmer Max Supporter

plow it all down and plant it to hay, or corn lol. Im just kidding

3. ellebeaux

yeah, yeah, yeah, I'm trying to maintain my dignity here by considering my quarter acre a homestead!

4. BlueRidge

BlueRidge Well-Known Member

I would not mulch a heavy leaf fall onto your lawn. A few leaves is one thing, but be careful that you don't create a nice thick cover of leaf fragments that will choke your lawn.

5. ellebeaux

Well, I guess that's my question: how much is too much? My guess right now is that I can do it this time but next week I'll have to rake up the rest of the leaves. Or alternately, I should rake up the leaves before he mows and let the next batch rot on the lawn.

I've never lived in a place that had a nice lawn and I'd like to keep it that way. Without getting too obsessive! I don't want to be like one those men on the TV ads.

thanks!

Beaux

6. Cabin Fever

Cabin Fever Life NRA Member since 1976 Supporter