Land quantity

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by P&B, Dec 29, 2004.

1. P&B

P&B Member

I'm new to the homesteading thing and I'm bad at math. How much land is realistically needed to have a homestead that supports a family of seven (five children)? What size should the garden be? How many hogs, cows, goats, etc.?

My parents own forty acres in the Midwest, but my husband and I live in New England and land is much more expensive, so I'd like so suggestions on a minimum land quantity. We have young kids, so we also need to have room for them to run and play without worrying about trampling the garden or getting bit by the pig.

Thank you.

2. timmcentire

timmcentire Active Member

We also have a family of seven and so I've taken a look at different gardening techniques to make it easier and provide more. I'd recommend a book called: "Square Foot Gardening". With careful planning and such, you can harvest a lot of food from a very tiny bit of space.

As far as animals, I'd think a lot of it has to do with the conditions that you want them to live in. Commercial meat producers usually cram the animals into unhealthy living conditions and have to pump them full of antibiotics to keep them alive long enough to market them. It's generally better if you can give the animals enough space and healthful living quarters so that you can raise them well and get better results.

You should be able to get by on 5-10 acres or less and be able to feed your family as long as you have a good plan.

You might want to read some of the articles from the Mother Earth News archives: http://www.motherearthnews.com/index.php?page=archindex or Countryside magazine. There's lots of helpful material in those.

3. FrankTheTank

FrankTheTank Well-Known Member

You'd be suprised with what you could do with a 1/4acre...but anything over an acre would do fine (unless you plan on having many large animals)...

4. BamaSuzy

BamaSuzy Well-Known Member