lame pet pig, need help

Discussion in 'Pigs' started by SDjulieinSC, Sep 15, 2006.

1. SDjulieinSC

SDjulieinSC Well-Known Member

I know that most of you don't keep them as pet's, but I'm a weirdo so I do.
    He is lame in what seems to be his right front foot. He is really bad when he first starts walking but improves after he's been moving for a while. I don't see any injuries and I don't think his hoof is too long. Could it be arthritis? Is there anything I can give to help with pain? He must not be too miserable as he is still eating and drinking but I hate to see him hobbiling along.
    The vet said that bute would not do much for him and anything else would need to be given in such a large dose that it would be very costly. She did say I might try some glucosamine/chondriton(sp?) from the health food store.
    Any of you have any ideas ( other than freezer camp) for me?

2. CountryMamaof5

CountryMamaof5 Well-Known Member

Sorry but I am new to pigs and dont know. I hope it turns out the best for you

3. Abouttime

Abouttime Well-Known Member

You can buy Glucosamine/Chondroitin at the drug store much cheaper than at a health food store. If you have a Walgreens in your area, they frequently have Buy One, Get One Free.

4. Siryet

Siryet In Remembrance

We buy ours at (Gasp) Wal-Mart 120 tablets for $17.89.

I has worked wonders on our (gasp) Guard Dog and our inside Chi dog.

If the vet cannot find out anything obvious, I would use it for sure. We call it our miracle drug.

5. Earthbound

Earthbound Well-Known Member

Meloxacam (sp) works wonders on pigs, it's an anti-inflamatory and pain killer that is often prescribed for dogs with hip problems. I have one of mine on it and it made a noticeable difference. Sorry for the spelling mistakes....
    corry

6. marvella

marvella Well-Known Member

i give my crippled pig glucosamine every day and it makes a huge difference in her mobility.

7. SDjulieinSC

SDjulieinSC Well-Known Member