Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
227 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to sheep and lambing, but my question is - is it better to have the girls lamb in jugs? It is very cold where I am located and I am afraid to have the lambs born in their open enclosure.

Any input would be greatly appreciated!

Also, do you all weigh the lambs - keep track of them? Tag them immediately?

THANKS!

·
Registered
84 Posts
I let mine lamb in the field and only get involved if I need to. Its cold where I am at also (Ohio). We just had a lamb yesterday and it was 6 here this morning....everyone is just fine but they do have a barn they can go into to get out of the wind. I only put them in a jug if there is an issue (health problem, or mother rejects them).

·
Premium Member
15,981 Posts
They feel more secure in the herd. I let them lamb when they are ready, then bring Mom and lamb into the nursery pen (the septic field, which is higher then the surrounding area and doesn't get puddles). They were adjacent to the rest of the herd, but safe from a moody ram or a ewe trying to steal a lamb. Soon, all but the ram would be in the nursery and I could let the moms with older lambs in the main pasture.

Lambs are born with a good wool coat and my girls often lambed in the snow. If you want to put the mom in the barn to drop her lambs, put three ewes in the barn. Make sure they are in an area large enough for the new mother to have some room to herself.

·
Registered
7,270 Posts