Kiowa

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Randy Dandy, Aug 29, 2004.

1. Randy Dandy

Randy Dandy Well-Known Member

I'm new at this so any help would be great. I'm wanting to plant the Kiowa for the deer, turkey, and whatever we can get, and eat first. Are the thorny blackberries that bad compared to the thornless ? I also have emailed Simmons Farms 3 different times asking questions, but I'm not getting a response. Are they still in business ? We are trying to get a house built in the very near future, and I'm wanting to plant things for the deer and turkey as they're eating place will soon be disturbed. I thought about Johnson grass for cover, and bedding purpose in the back, then blackberries, then about 10 Persimmon trees. Any suggestions would be great. Sorry for all the questions at one time, but we are kinda busy with financing, builders, ect... Thanks, Randy

2. Meg Z

Meg Z winding down

If you're planting blackberries mostly for the wildlife, I'd stick to thorny types. My reasoning on that is that the wild berries are thorny. They evolved thorns to keep deer and other herbivores from eating the entire plant right down to the ground. They can nibble the tenderer portions, but can't kill the plant. Most birds have no trouble navigating in the thorns, and the thorns provide some protection for birds who choose to nest in the blackberries. Or for turkeys who can nest in the interior of a thicket and have some protection that way.

Now, if you're planting them for yourself, that's your own call. :D

We're putting in thorny ones. I wanted half and half, but hubby says blackberries should have thorns, by golly! That was before I took the city boy blackberry picking. I wonder if he's changed his mind? :haha:

The deer will love you for the persimmons.