kidding time?

Discussion in 'Goats' started by susanne, Dec 16, 2004.

1. susanne

susanne Nubian dairy goat breeder

i got a doe since yesterday that is due very soon. don't know the exact time. the guy i got her from said sometimes in january. so that is soon. her belly looks down to the ground and her hip bones are sticking out. for me she looks really thin. also she is an older doe, much more than five maybe seven years old. it is a very big and colourfull nubian. white, black, brown and red in big patches. she is eating good but her poo is more like big blobs and not little berrys. no diarea though. how can you tell how old a doe is if she lost all her milk teeth?
    could i still worm her and what could i give her to get some meat on her? in the past she had always tripplets.
    susanne

2. Tango

Tango Well-Known Member

Susanne, I'm not an expert and don't mean to rain on your parade but have gone through a patch recently. Go online and order CMPK gel from PBSHealth.com or another place that has it. It is only $4.50 or so and it is a lifesaver, if she is skinny and has had triplets in the past. Also purchase Nutri Drench and follow instructions for newborns and her. Be sure she is getting plenty of alfalfa hay or pellets along with her ration for calcium. Find a goat mineral lick and let her have that as she wishes. I know the others on here have more experience- I just saw your question and had to respond since I've recently had a skinny doe (purchased bred and malnourished) kid and she's had a hard time. She developed hypocalcemia and I'm working with her hourly. Be prepared. Best wishes for you and her :)

3. peakfarms

peakfarms Member

http://fiascofarm.com/goats/kidding.htm
    I totally recommend this site for pics and info. I had a doe kid a week ago, and it was not a normal birth. I had studied this site before, adn was glad I did. I had to go in and help the first twin out.
    This site also has great references for disbudding.
    Regina Peak