Kerosene heaters for green house?

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Randy Rooster, Nov 13, 2005.

1. Randy Rooster

Randy Rooster Well-Known Member Supporter

This is my first year with a green house. Most of the plants I will have in it will be fairly hardy down to 32 degrees but on those nites that hit 25 or below ( not many where I am) I need some supplemental heat. I am thinking of using a bullet kerosene heater and or one or two of the 20,000 btu wick type kerosene heaters that you can get at the big box stores. Will any fumes given off hurt my plants? Does any one have any suggestions for alternatives? I do not want to invest in a regular propane green house heater - too expensive and it wont be used that much either. Thank you. ps the hoop house is 26 feet by 48 feet.

2. james dilley

james dilley Well-Known Member Supporter

First off you are going to have to add moisture to the greenhouse if you use A kerosene heater. The smaller type heaters with A fan used might be A better way to go.Just figure how hot the heaters are going to get, They might melt the covering of the greenhouse. Try A trial run during the day maybe when its not to cold where you can openthe unit if need be. But the main problem will be excess heat..

3. chas

chas Well-Known Member

Up north here in western Pa my dad for years used two kerosun heaters.Fumes didn't hurt any of the plants.He had a hoop 16 x 40.The plastic got a bit sooty in three yrs.
    It was kept around 40 degrees.
    This year he has two small electric heaters which means no more filling and spilling every day.Plus it should be much cheaper now with the cost of clear kerosene.
    Keep the kerosene heaters for a back up,just in case electric goes out.
    Chas

4. Helena

Helena Well-Known Member