Katahdin Rams

Discussion in 'Sheep' started by animal_kingdom, Apr 5, 2005.

1. animal_kingdom

animal_kingdom Well-Known Member

With all this talk about aggressive rams I got to thinking...

This is my first year with Katahdins and I never had a ram before. I want to purchase a Ram but you all got me nervous.

So...I understand the basic rule with any animals, especially the males. We have other livestock. What I'm wondering is on average, how are the Katahdin Rams?

Also, we just had our first two ramlambs born a week ago and then today (just the most gorgeous brownish red one was born shortly ago. Just beautiful!)

I would also like to know how long to keep them together. With the goats, we just let them wean off in time- usually about 3 months. When do I separate them from the "women"? And I can keep them together for a while if they are all basically the same age?...maybe for about 6-8 months at the most they would be here until they are sold or butchered.

Thanks for all your help and for sharing your experiences. They really make someone think a bit differently.

Mama

2. quailkeeper

quailkeeper Well-Known Member