Jumping Goat

Discussion in 'Goats' started by beckibell, Mar 3, 2005.

1. beckibell

beckibell New Member

Hello,
    I have a 10 month old Nubian who is terribly ill-mannered. I'm sure it is my fault as I am still new to the goat game and quite uneducated about how you are supposed to discipline a goat. His brother is very polite and has none of the same issues as he does.

The main problem I'm having with this goat is that he is constantly jumping on me, and has done so since I first got him at five weeks. I have always tried to discourage it but I'm afraid I may actually be *encouraging* it, at least based on his reaction. When he jumps on me I push him down and say "NO!" but he actually seems to get a kick out of this. He must think I'm playing with him or something. In any event, it does nothing to curb the behavior.

I'm nine months pregnant so you can see why this would be a problem for me! Also I worry about him becoming a full sized adult goat and still having this problem. I certainly won't be able to allow my son anywhere near him--such behavior is dangerous enough to a full grown adult like me or my husband, could be lethal for a child.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

2. chma4

chma4 Wolverton Family Farm Supporter

Im pretty new to this myself, but it is my observation that goats hate water. Maybe if you squirt him in the face with a little household squirt bottle everytime he jumps on you this might give him the hint. It works on my dogs. I chose the squirt bottle because it was something they didnt like and got the point accross immediately when they are doing something unnacceptable (such as jumping on people). It hasnt seemed to hurt my dogs, maybe it will work on him. I don't think it can hurt, as long as its not too cold out.

3. Jen H

Jen H Well-Known Member

It sounds like he doesn't think you're the boss.