joint ill/septicemia

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by kirsten, May 11, 2006.

1. kirsten

kirsten Well-Known Member

HI group. I am new to this cattle forum. I have my first calf.
    It has not gone well. We got the corriente from my FIL becuase the mother refused it and it was kicked. I examined the legs but they were not dangerously swollen or anything. I did mention that the calf switched which leg he favored but no one believed me, meaning my husband. We thought it was a deep bruise that needed a month or more to heal, a few days later, his hip had fused into the socket making him permanently crippled. I called the vet out after we had had the calf about 9 days. That is when we heard that he was forever crippled and that he had a navel infection/joint ill in the back other leg causing septicemia. He has been on penicillin 2 weeks now and is finally getting around but the swelling which eventually did pop up in a hock has not gone down. Will it ever go down? Or has it solidified in the joint at least that far and won't get any smaller?

the calf has joined the flock. It is very unfortunate all of this, especially considering that a navel infection in a lamb is readily apparent and easily managed. I always thought that cattle were so much easier but the idea that a leg/hip could fuse up so quickly is astounding! They say sheep are difficult and maybe they are generally more worrisome but I am less impressed with cattle now. Do you have to monitor every kicked calf every minute?! It just blows my mind what happened to this calf that fast. He went from rodeo star to limping dinner in a matter of days. kirsten

2. Paula

Paula Well-Known Member

I hate to tell you this, but we've never had a calf survive navel ill. I do know that they do occaisionally survive though.