Jersey bulls

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by pointer_hunter, Aug 14, 2004.

1. pointer_hunter

pointer_hunter Well-Known Member

I talked to my father today on the phone and he said he had a line on some jersey bull calves by his house for sale. He said the sign read, "$18.00 and up." I know that jersey bulls really aren't good for a dairy farm, but are they that bad that they should be so cheap? How much room would one need to raise a few to butcher weight and how well does this breed put on the weight? I have a beefmaster cow out with the family bm heard, but I thought about maybe getting a few of these guys and keeping them at the house. Any and all information on this is greatly appreciated as I need as much ammunition I mean information when I try to talk my DW into this.

2. Jim in MO

Jim in MO Well-Known Member

I’m currently raising two Jersey’s for slaughter myself. You’ll find that they take quite a bit longer to raise to slaughter weight than the typical beef cow and the marbling will be yellowish instead of white. All in all I think they make great beef and for the little cost of a bottle Jersey bull it works for me. I have yet to find anyone who can tell me that they have made a profit raising Jersey’s for slaughter because there really isn’t a market for them. But, for the home freezer I think they are great.

Jim in MO

3. uncle Will in In.

uncle Will in In. Well-Known Member Supporter

Jersey bull calves or steers are at the bottom rung of the price ladder at any age. They are cheap at birth, but the feed they eat costs the same as the feed you would give a higher priced beefier type calf. It would be hard to raise them for resale and show any profit. One or two for your own meat might make them worth while unless you prefer a more choicer grade of meat.

4. pointer_hunter

pointer_hunter Well-Known Member

Thanks.....