Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have 4 very young trees that get swarmed with Japanese Beetles. Two apple trees that I planted last year and two peach this year.

Within 24 hours of planting the peach trees this year the beetles hit. I don't know if they will survive but the Apple trees should.

I tried soap and water and neem oil then finally used sevn on the trees. Which keeps it controlled for about a week. Currently all the fruit is disposed of at the beginning of the season to give the trees more energy to grow.

I was watching the lunch news and the Master Gardner said that the beetles will pass in about a week and then go into the ground and lay eggs so put your grub control down in about a month.

Here's my question. If I put grub control down around the trees will that mean I won't have Japanese Beetles next year?

Her statement kind of implied it but didn't actually say it and I'm really new at this. If I put grub control down will it damage the fruit? I think next year I should get quite a few apples but the peach trees will still be a few years out.

Thanks for your help!

·
Registered
873 Posts
Oh you'll have beetles , they fly in from all around the area . I hand pick and drop in soapy water and spray my plants with Pyganic . it's a battle every year that seems will never end . I also have built many bird houses to encourage bluebirds to eat the pest . they do eat them but not the thousands that show up every year . the jap beetle traps catch lots of them but may attract more to the area than would have been there otherwise .

·
Premium Member
8,331 Posts
If they are small trees, maybe you can use fine netting to cover them for a couple of years until they get bigger and more able to make leaves.

geo

·
Banned
16,491 Posts
They swarmed my fruit trees too when they were first planted, for about 2 years. I never did any grub control, but battled them by hand like a medieval warrior, lol.