Is this normal? (first preg. doe)

Discussion in 'Goats' started by havenberryfarm, Dec 17, 2004.

1. havenberryfarm

havenberryfarm Well-Known Member

I am a total newbie with goats, so I feel like one of those first-time moms who doesn't know anything and annoys everyone with stupid questions, but here goes.
    Is it normal for a pregnant doe to have a slight mucous discharge periodically throughout her pregnancy? I am talking about an inch or two hanging out of her vaginal area. It is not bloody and she is not due until the beginning of February.
    I have not had her pregnancy confirmed. She only spent a weekend with a buck and it was at the end of her heat cycle too. Is there a chance that she did not "take"? There was definitely a whole lot of lovin' goin' on, but I have had this nagging worry at the back of my mind that it was too little too late.

Assuming she is pregnant, is this discharge something to worry about? what is normal at this stage? She will start showing soon, right? I hear that they start to show at about 6 weeks prior to delivery. I feel like a first-time mom all over again. :eek:

2. Galloping Goats

Galloping Goats Active Member

I felt exactly the same way last year. I don't have a ton of experience but I don't think there should be discharge. Have you been watching for tail flagging? If she comes into heat again then she is not preg. It's not to late to rebreed if that is the case. Hopefully someone else will offer a more experienced opinion.

3. havenberryfarm

I have not noticed any tail waving or bleating. But, then again, we don't have any bucks nearby. I wonder if I should find a nice buck nearby and have her bred?????
    Let's say she is pregnant. Would rebreeding her put her at risk? And is the mucous a sign that she is in trouble? I didn't think so since she has had mucous before, but I don't want to take unneccessary risks with her.

4. SherrieC

SherrieC Well-Known Member