Homesteading Forum banner

Is this Garlic mustard?

2K views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  Danaus29 
#1 ·
Hi all,

I just wanted to see if this plant is garlic mustard? My goat kids found some growing under a tree and I wanted to ID it before letting them eat it. I found similar images online, so hopefully I’m on track.
Plant Flower Grass Groundcover Bedrock
Flower Plant Petal Groundcover Flowering plant

Sorry the images are sideways, I don’t know why the orientation flipped.

See less See more
#2 ·
I am NOT an expert, but the iNaturalist app says it is garlic mustard.

“Garlic mustard is a very invasive weed. The roots exude a chemical that is inhibit other plants from growing, and it can grow in full sun or full shade, making it a threat to a wide variety of our native plants and habitats. Each plant can produce up to 5000 seeds which remain viable in the soil for five years or more. All of these traits allow garlic mustard, once established in an area, to rapidly reproduce and spread, excluding native and landscaping plants while spreading quickly across the landscape.”

#3 ·
Yes, that's definitely garlic mustard (Alliaria petiolata) and I can tell from the sharpness of the toothy margins that yours is in it's biennial second stage when it produces the most fertile seeds. Your goats can safely eat it since the whole plant is edible. You can eat it too, but the fresh new leaves are best since the more the leaves mature, the more bitter they become. The very sweetest part of the plant is the stem.