Is this a good pair?......

Discussion in 'Goats' started by monarchcmj, Jan 20, 2005.

1. monarchcmj

monarchcmj Well-Known Member

I am hoping to get two goats in the spring. After fighting with the town on where our property boundaries are, I think we finally have everything settled so we can build a small barn and pen off the back of a garage my husband is going to build.
    I was thinking I'd like to get a wether and a doe; is that a good pair? I would like to have the option of breeding my doe at some point, but do not want a buck here full time, and I know goats are herd animals, so thought I'd get her a wether for a "mate". Any thoughts? Thanks!
    Christy

2. Lt. Wombat

Lt. Wombat Well-Known Member

If you can afford 2 does it might be a better investment. Besides nothing sounds more lovely in the middle of the night when you're trying to sleep than 2 Nubians cycling :haha:

3. monarchcmj

A better investment? Can you elaborate?, lol. I'm new to the whole goat scene and can use all the help I can get ;) Thanks!
    Christy

4. susanne

susanne Nubian dairy goat breeder

the does will give you kids and milk. the wether is only eating :rolleyes:
    even if you put him in the freezer someday,wich is probably not a beginners choice, he has eaten more than the meat is worth. does that makes sense?
    other option, you keep the wether as a companion for a buck you'll have in the future?
    susanne

5. HilltopDaisy

HilltopDaisy Well-Known Member Supporter

My goats are pets. Being brand new to goats, I got 3, just in case...........you know, in case something bad happened, that way I wouldn't be left with only one :rolleyes: . Now I have 4, and things are great.

6. Jen H

Jen H Well-Known Member

If you're just looking for pets, the wether will be a great friend for your doe. If you're looking for these critters to be sulf-sufficient, then 2 does would probably be a better choice.