Is there anyone here that can build a log cabin?

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Unregistered-1427815803, Jan 31, 2004.

1. I seriously considering a log home for our next homestead. I would like to use one of those kits. However, I have no building experience and am not very good a stuff like that. I had to take my butcher block island apart 3 times before I got it together right. Does anyone here have any experience with a log kit and does anyone put them together for other people? Also, does anyone hire out to do re-wiring, lay flooring, and other remodeling projects if I decide to go with a fixer upper.

2. uncle Will in In.

uncle Will in In. Well-Known Member Supporter

There are many people who are quite skilfull at most of what you would need done. Finding someone who isn't busier than a one legged guy at a butt kickin' contest is difficult.

3. joan from zone six

joan from zone six Well-Known Member

the kits alone are horribly expensive for what you get

4. I've helped a number of others with rewiring and have wired several new buildings and a home. None have had a fire or burned down yet. lol.

I'm pretty much a jack of all trades. Log homes I've not dealt with and really wouldn't care to unless doing it from scratch like in the Foxfire books. I've studied them and it seems easy enough if you just think each step through.

The others I've helped generally provide transportation costs, room and board.
    Since most have been neighbors, it is usually just some good meals with no transportation or a room required.

If you aren't too far away I mght think about helping some.

5. Hoop

Hoop Well-Known Member

I have built several log homes, but none of them have been "kit" homes.