Is there any way a computer illiterate

Discussion in 'Computer Questions' started by FarmboyBill, Jan 19, 2013.

  1. FarmboyBill

    FarmboyBill Well-Known Member Supporter

    Messages:
    21,562
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Can tell you what kind of puter I have, and what I need to be able to play a game that thakes 3G memory, 4 GB RAM, Hard drive min 1500MB space Graphics Card, GTX 550 Serle/ATH@ HD 5600 Series, MB VRAM

    The puter is an old Dell 16 xDVD +R/RLW 8.5GB DUEL lqyer. ooops

    Thats all on the player my Nephew installed
     
  2. mnn2501

    mnn2501 Dallas

    Messages:
    11,375
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    N of Dallas, TX
    Give is the model number of the Dell (or better yet the Service Tag number - it'll be on a tag with a UPC symbol and have 7 or 8 letters/numbers usually on the back of a Desktop or the bottom of a laptop) and tell us what operating system you have.
     

  3. Nevada

    Nevada Voice of Reason Supporter

    Messages:
    40,605
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    The above describes a computer, but memory & RAM are the same thing. It must require 4 gb.

    The above describes your computer's DVD drive. There's no way to tell what generation of computer you have from the DVD drive.
     
  4. FarmboyBill

    FarmboyBill Well-Known Member Supporter

    Messages:
    21,562
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Model DIM3000IPC06010709799
     
  5. arabian knight

    arabian knight Miniature Horse lover Supporter

    Messages:
    25,004
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Location:
    West Central WI.
    Right click on the System Icon and tell us what the machine has.
     
  6. mnn2501

    mnn2501 Dallas

    Messages:
    11,375
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    N of Dallas, TX
    That's not the computer model number.

    It will be something like an "Insprion 660" or a "Studio XPS"

    If all you want to know is if a program will play in it, put it in and find out if it works.
     
  7. FarmboyBill

    FarmboyBill Well-Known Member Supporter

    Messages:
    21,562
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    I dont see system icon. I hit all programs, and didnt see it.
     
  8. arabian knight

    arabian knight Miniature Horse lover Supporter

    Messages:
    25,004
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Location:
    West Central WI.
    You don't see a HD icon or one that says Your Computer icon on your desktop? Without anything else showing on screen the icons that show this in the upper righthand side of the screen or left hand side. If you do right click on it and click on System Info That will have the info we need to tell you what you have for innards.
     
  9. Nevada

    Nevada Voice of Reason Supporter

    Messages:
    40,605
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Right-click on the My Computer icon, then select Properties. The information you need is listed on that panel under Computer.
     
  10. FarmboyBill

    FarmboyBill Well-Known Member Supporter

    Messages:
    21,562
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, Version 2002
    Service par? 3
    76477-OEM-001190-00102
    Dell Demension DIM 3000
    Intel R
    Celeron (R) CPU 266 Ghz
    266 GHz 1.00 GB or RAM
     
  11. Nevada

    Nevada Voice of Reason Supporter

    Messages:
    40,605
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Short answer -- that machine won't do it.
     
    notbutanapron likes this.
  12. FarmboyBill

    FarmboyBill Well-Known Member Supporter

    Messages:
    21,562
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    I already know that. Tried it last night. CAN It be adapted to do it tho??
     
  13. arabian knight

    arabian knight Miniature Horse lover Supporter

    Messages:
    25,004
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Location:
    West Central WI.
    I doubt it because that game takes 4 Gigs of Ram Memory. Yours only has 1 Gig and can only be brought up to 2 Gigs according to specs I looked up.
     
  14. Nevada

    Nevada Voice of Reason Supporter

    Messages:
    40,605
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    It's going to require a new mainboard, processor, memory, and video adapter. It wouldn't be cost effective to upgrade all that stuff, since an entire new box would be less expensive than those parts. Check out the prices just for the video adapter they recommend.

    https://www.google.com/#q=GTX+550&h...74,d.cGE&fp=cc9bf6f2ea3eb624&biw=1280&bih=636

    But that machine would still make a great computer for word processing and Internet browsing.
     
  15. arabian knight

    arabian knight Miniature Horse lover Supporter

    Messages:
    25,004
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Location:
    West Central WI.
    Most all games today are Ram Memory Hogs~ I think Nev. will agree will that.
    Even the lowest priced under 900 bucks a HP Starts with 8 GB of Ram. And can be upped to 16
    I looked at some "gaming" computers from HP and they can go all the way to 32 GB of Ram.
    I myself upped this iMac form 2 GB to 8 and I am not even a gamer.
    Just that every new version of really ANY OS, takes more and more Ram Memory. And playing most any modern game nowadays requires a bunch of ram just to load on the machine, say nothing about playing it.
     
  16. FarmboyBill

    FarmboyBill Well-Known Member Supporter

    Messages:
    21,562
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    I placed an ad in CL and have got one response. My Nephew who is a puter geek and he checked it out. he saidf it should/might play it, but wasnt sure, so Ill hold out and see what shows up this week.
     
  17. ||Downhome||

    ||Downhome|| Born in the wrong Century

    Messages:
    5,431
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan
    option 1 184.00 board,processor and 8 gigs ram.
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=4926128&Sku=M69-0808

    option 2 99.99 board,processor and 4 gigs ram.
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=4809450&Sku=M69-0801

    Video card- 114.99
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=86839&CatId=3669

    option 4 - 404.99
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=7380572&CatId=5205

    options 1+Video card = 298.99
    options 2+Video card = 214.98
    my pick option 4 = 404.99 (no surprises)
    option one has more ram then 2 both comparable on processor speed, 1 is almost 100 more then 2 and 4 is a little over 100 from 1 (200 from 2) but you also get a case and power supply, as much ram as 1 and more processor speed then either plus a dvd burner. just add hard drive.

    I just took a quick search and tigers a goto for me on prices. your free to do your own shopping bill but think you would be better off new then used off craigs list. just my 2 cents.
     
  18. FarmboyBill

    FarmboyBill Well-Known Member Supporter

    Messages:
    21,562
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Thanks all, and DH, I just cant see spending that money for playing one game. There are several sim farm games around, BUT, at the present, This is the only one that goes back to the 1950s. IF it wernt for that, I would have not bought it. I dont play games generally, so to have it when I already have a proificient puter at hand is just more than I want/can handle.
     
  19. ||Downhome||

    ||Downhome|| Born in the wrong Century

    Messages:
    5,431
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan
    Bill thats chump change compared to what I dropped on my first machine.
    Not bragging just saying.
    I just upgraded from xp (32 bit) to win7 (64 bit)
    I did not want to but I've been getting into these memory intensive graphics programs, let me tell you its not only made using them more pleasurable but just in general everything else runs so much faster.

    I of coarse got my computer geek brothers last system (its a loan so to speak) so I did not have to drop any money on it.

    But if you not doing that sort of stuff and only use the puter for low intensity apps, I could see not wanting to spend the money.
     
  20. scififan1234

    scififan1234 Member

    Messages:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Just curious what game is it? I love farming games!:D