Is there a Fig Expert handy?

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by snoozy, Jan 3, 2004.

1. snoozy

snoozy Well-Known Member Supporter

I have a Brown Turkey in the biggest pot they make. It is 4-5 years old, and severely rootbound. It has never produced fruit, though it seems to be happy otherwise up next to our chocolate brown house protected from wind. I don't have any other warm, protected place to plant it in the ground. I don't want roots growing right next to the house foundation -- and anyway, the dirt there is pretty dead.

So, if I severely root prune this tree and renew its soil in the container, will it be happy and kick out some fruit, or will it just die? (Maritime NW Zone 8 here.)

2. Dolly

Dolly Well-Known Member

If you root-prune your fig it may make some fruit but at the rate fig trees generally grow, it will become rootbound again in a couple of growing seasons. The variety Petit Negronne is better suited to pot culture.

I have no experience with one particular technique, but have heard of people in the northeast doing it with success. They plant the tree in the ground, and after it goes dormant in the fall and before a hard freeze, they dig down into the soil on one side of the tree but leave the soil and roots untouched on the other side, bundle all the branches together with heavy twine or small rope, lay the tree over on it's side in a trench dug deeply enough to accept it, cover the tree with burlap or something similar, and then bury the entire tree with soil and mulch it very heavily. When spring comes, the tree is unearthed, stood upright and staked. Apparently this has been a successful techinque for some people.

It might be worth trying in your area.

3. Oxankle

Oxankle Well-Known Member

Snoozy: