Is there a breed that has does with horns and can be used for milk?

Discussion in 'Goats' started by mailman, May 17, 2004.

1. mailman

mailman Miniature Cattle

Hello again. I am just learning here. Is there a breed that has does with horns and can be used for milking? I have a preference for the look of boer does with horns but can be milked.

2. Bob in WI

Bob in WI Well-Known Member

It has been many years since we milked goats. However I remember that we had Toggenburgs and the does did have horns. I also think many other breeds, if not all, the does have horns.

3. Wendy

Wendy Well-Known Member

Most dairy breeds would have horns if not disbudded when young. The closest in looks to a Boer for milking, would probably be a Nubian. Lots of people cross the two breeds, using a Boer buck on Nubian does. I love my Nubians!!

4. mamasaanan

mamasaanan Well-Known Member

Saanen's make wonderful milkers, and if not disbudded as kids, have a very nice set of horns. Most owners disbud their animals because of the danger of them getting caught in fencing and hurthing themselves. All my does, except one, have been disbudded. Also, if you are planning on keeping bucks, horned males can be a bit intimidating, and if not raised properly, can cause all sorts of damage with their horns, including taking down any fence that gets between them and the does. Believe me nothing is going to stop a 300 pound buck from getting to his girls.

5. dale anne

dale anne Well-Known Member