Is my pig pregnant?

Discussion in 'Pigs' started by Angie, Jul 7, 2006.

1. Angie

Angie Well-Known Member

I have a Hamp gilt. I bred her and thought she took and was due on July 3rd. Her teats are hanging and looked filled out. If they have never had babies before would thier teats hang like that or isshe really pregnant? How far over the due date can they go? I bred her several times over a weeks time so she may not have takent he first time. Just wondering if I could be mistaken that she really isn't pregnant.

2. famer_manda

famer_manda I Love CHICKENS!

I have no experience in pig breeding but i know with my pygmy goats, I knew they were pregnant once the udders developed so I would get excited seeing a pigs teats getting ready. I would bet shes going to deliver soon.!!

3. Misty

Misty Misty Gonzales

she sounds to me like she is bred...watch for her to have a very swollen vulva...the tail head will sink in on the sides of the tail as the softening continues. She will nest, be kind of anxious. It has been our experience this all occurs about 12 hours prior. She will also get milk. We have had them get milk about 12 hours prior and had them get milk and farrow in 3-4 hours. You can squeeze the teat and check. There will also be goo coming from her vulva.

4. americanbulldog

americanbulldog American Hunter

How long does it take from the breeding until the pigs give birth?
    When was she bred?
    I guess you are saying that she is already 4 days overdue? Is this common?

5. Misty

Misty Misty Gonzales

114 days. Most of ours farrow on time

6. Up North

Up North KS dairy farmers

Any Nesting behavior yet????????????

7. Angie

Angie Well-Known Member

She has milk now in one of her back teats. No nesting behavior. How far over the due date can they go? My first date of July 3 was from the first time I bred her. July 11 would be the date from the last time I bred her, I think. So she is still over!!

8. John Schneider

John Schneider Well-Known Member