Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to keeping and breeding rabbits, but I really want to get some babies born to raise as meat for my family. I have 2 meat mutt bucks who are about 7 months old and about 7 lbs. I know one of them has bred successfully as I also have two of his daughters. My breeding does are white Flemish Giants (possibly crossed with NZW) and they are about a year old and weigh about 12 lbs., I'm guessing.

Two of the rabbits, when put together, just chase each other around in circles, alternating biting and slapping each other. No bloodshed, but no successful mounting either. That doe has a very slight chance of being pregnant, though I palpated her and felt nothing (I know I'm inexperienced, but I've successfully palpated my guinea pigs and rodents are rodents, right?).

The other two rabbits also chased and thumped around the cage. The buck was able to mount the doe many times, but he kept missing his mark. I tried helping him out by holding the doe's shoulders and flipping her back legs out to present her nicely. He gave her a few licks, mounted her, and when it looked like it was going well, I let go and he just popped off (no drama, no grunt, no keeling over, just walked away). Then the doe started going after his genitals, so I separated them.

For all the accidental litters that happen and "breeding like rabbits" I hear about, I just don't understand why I'm having so much trouble! Do I just need to persist? Are my does just too big for my bucks to handle? Do they need a little carrot juice to get in the mood? For now, we're playing the waiting game and I'm going to try re-breeding again tonight. I'd appreciate any and all advice people have on finally getting a successful rabbit breeding under my belt.

·
Super Moderator
16,682 Posts
Was it hot out where you live? Heat can interfere with breeding. The buck is often infertile and it decreases his interest.