Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy yall,
I am kind of new to HT, and had a question for you. I hope that you are able to help me with this. Growing up we raised meat and dairy goats and I am interested in getting back into them. I don't have much grass on my property and the ideal place to put the goat pen there is none. I was wondering if it is OK to raise them without pasture, and if so what do I need to supplement with? Hay? Beet Pulp? Grain? I am really really interested in getting goats again, and cost is not a huge deal as far as nutrition goes. But with the economy the way it is I will save werever I can. Thank Yall in advance!

-Katie

·
Love My Manchas!
1,803 Posts
Im not an expert, but they need room to run around and be goats, i belive they would be okay without pasture to graze on, but forsure need room aside from their pens. My girls graze olny a little bit(they have pleanty to graze on, they just prefer their alfalfa) and feed in the morning and night alfalfa for milkers with plenty of grain and all the minerals they want, and for the babys half wheat and half alfalfa with a bit of grain and all the minerals they want. So i think they would be okay without grazing pasture but they need their exercise time :D but yet again im not an expert, its the way i take care of my girls and they are fat and happy ;)

·
Registered
5,663 Posts