Is Ebay buying becoming problematic for anyone?

Discussion in 'Countryside Families' started by RoseGarden, Jan 13, 2007.

1. RoseGarden

RoseGarden Well-Known Member

I have been buying things on Ebay for about four years now. Nothing expensive, no big ticket items like cars, appliances or jewelery, just things like small plants, door hinges and some other misc. small hardware, a few minor collectibles, etc.

There has never been any real problems that I can recall, just about all transactions went smoothly except perhaps things like slow mail, etc.

But all of a sudden, in the past couple of months, just about every transaction has been problematic in some way. I don't do PayPal for a number of reasons, and only buy from sellers who accept money orders, which I always use. I also check the seller before bidding to check their feedback, to make sure I don't buy from someone who has chronic bad ratings. I am also very conscientious about mailing my money order the day after I get my invoice in my email, and letting the seller know it is on it's way. My feedback is at 100%.

Four of the last purchases I have made in a row, and then two before Christmas, have hassled me about my payment, either not getting there at all or getting there late. I can't control the postal service, which is what I always tell them. (I've also asked at my post office if there is some reason the mail could be slow, but other than Christmas I have been told they don't know). I have noticed that when I offer to fax or mail copies of the money order stub and copy of the receipt from the post office where I buy the money order as proof that I did purchase it, it seems that, oh, they have 'overlooked' my payment, or it suddenly appears in their mailbox later that day. I am not saying such things are not possible, but it just seems like all of a sudden, something fishy is going on. Is anyone else having problems like this lately? I am thinking that I will not be buying on Ebay anymore...