Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2,137 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Or planting seeds either??
And what is some good fall crops.
As a lot of you know, I got run over by the varmits at the begining of the year, but I have about cleaned the house. I haven't had anything eaten for a couple of weeks now. :dance:
I was just wondering how long some of you continue to plant things.
I am fdoing pretty well with what I know how and when to plant, (tomatoes, peppers, corn, okra, squash) but as I am still learning, and I don't even know what is good for a fall crop and when to plant.
I have been planting and replanting all year so far because of the varmits, and everything seems to be coming in faster the more I plant. I have some peppers that hasn't been out long and I had no idea they were already bearing fruit but they are already. Time wise, they are produceing way faster than what I planted at the first of the year.
I know I sure am glad I didn't give up on it. I have corn, tomatoes, peppers and squash running out my ears I wouldn't have had if I had given up.

Thanks
Dennis

·
Registered
600 Posts
I have cucumbers and butternut squash going in this weekend. I enjoy the fall garden. Find out your frost date for your zone to figure out how much time you have left. I am in zone 6a and still planning to get in cabbage, kale, turnips, at least one more crop of bush beans, carrots and probably others. If you post your zone, I am sure some of the experts here can make suggestions.
KB

·
Registered
626 Posts
I just planted out my fall cabbages, brocolli, and brussel sprouts plants the first part of July.

About a week ago, I direct seeded a large section of carrots and beets for the main fall/winter harvest.