ironing out our well

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by drewallen, Oct 20, 2004.

1. drewallen

drewallen Member

Hello all. I'm a newbie to this forum, living in Pocahontas County, West Virginia where my wife and I got ourselves in slightly over our heads and bought ourselves one of the area's 1920s two-room school houses for our first home.

In spite of all it's quirks and the fact that we're its first full-time, year-round occupants, it's beautiful to us... most of the time.

One of the quirks I'm currently dealing with is the well. It's a dizzying 15 feet deep, augered/dug well (about 8" in diameter), located about 20 yards from a year-round creek that flows through part of our yard. The lay of the land is such that the well is probably about 5 feet above the creek. Between the well and the creek is a small, damp wetland.

One of the previous owners of the schoolhouse installed a 12 gpm submsersible pump. We've added a new pressure tank, 50 gallon electric water heater and plumbed the house (thank goodness for CPVC!) with a full bath and kitchen sink.

Shock chlorinated the well a couple times before we moved in.

I recently had a water analysis done on the well because we'd like to get the iron out. It's at about 4ppm of dissolved (ferric) iron.

I've gotten an estimate from the local hardware store on a MacClean Chem-Free system (greensand filter), but am concerned about the fact that the system needs backwashed with about 30-40 gallons every other day. I'm not sure if our well has that capacity.

Of course, we both take showers and do our dishes pretty much daily, and I really haven't noticed the water level in the well falling much below 10'.

We've been in the place for about 2 months and haven't run out of water, in spite of the fact that September and October are the area's driest months. I'm thinking the creek and adjacent wetland has a lot to do with that.